2015 – Akira Isogai, Tsuguyuki Saito, Japan, and Yoshiharu Nishiyama, France

for their ground-breaking research on TEMPO-mediated oxidation of cellulose fibre and further exploitation of this oxidation as a tool to produce nanofibrillated cellulose from wood pulp in an energy-efficient way. Their innovative work has strongly intensified the interest for industrially attractive production of nanofibrillated cellulose (NFC) and the development of commercial applications throughout the world. […]

2011 – Erik Næsset, Norway

for his path breaking research that incorporates the airborne laser scanning method as an integral part of forest inventory. Prof. Næsset has significantly contributed to the development of methods for operational use of laser scanning in forestry which provides high quality estimates of forest variables at reduced costs. Professor Næsset’s scientific work demonstrates prudently the […]

2010 – Hans Joachim Blass, Germany

for his path breaking work regarding innovative and reliable structural timber connections and reinforcements which have high load transfer capacity and can be efficiently applied at construction sites and within industrial processes. Efficient connections make it possible to construct large timber structures and save timber material while offering attractive logistic solutions by use of prefabricated […]