The Marcus Wallenberg Prize

The purpose of the Prize is to recognize, encourage and stimulate pathbreaking scientific achievements which contribute significantly to broadening knowledge and to technical development within the fields of importance to forestry and forest industries.

Groundbreaking economic models for integrated analysis of the forest sector

The 2023 Marcus Wallenberg Prize is awarded to Drs Darius Adams, Joseph Buongiorno and Richard Haynes.

Sustainable concept for wood-based textile fibres

The 2022 Marcus Wallenberg Prize is awarded to Professor Ilkka Kilpeläinen and Professor Herbert Sixta for the development and use of novel ionic liquids to process wood biomass into high-performance textile fibres.

Reflections on Ceremony & Symposium

Even though we couldn’t meet in person during this year’s event due to the corona pandemic situation, large efforts and a lot of hard work by..

Getting a grip on climate effects

We want more of everything from the forests. At the same time, climate change will give us faster growing forests – but also greater risks. The Swedish Forest Agency is now introducing the process-based..

31 May deadline for nominations

Individuals and institutions are invited to nominate candidates for the Marcus Wallenberg Prize between 1 March and 31 May 2021. The Prize is awarded to scientific achievements of importance..

Simplicity explains the success

Open access was important to the researchers developing the 3PG model, adopted worldwide by both science and forestry. The simple and powerful tool to predict forest growth is awarded the 2020 Marcus..

Wants to make the prize more widely known

Mikael Hannus was forced to adapt all activities to the Corona pandemic less than a month after his appointment as Executive Secretary of the Marcus Wallenberg Prize. The announcement of the 2020..

From discoveries to scientific breakthroughs

Kaj Rosén took over as Executive Secretary for the Marcus Wallenberg Prize in 2013. The Marcus Wallenberg Prize is an international Prize, based in Sweden, which is awarded once a year for a scientific breakthrough..

Press contact

Mikael Hannus

Executive Secretary of the Marcus Wallenberg Foundation


Marcus Wallenberg Foundation SE-791 80 Falun, Sweden