Selection Committee

Every year a large number of organizations – universities, institutes, academies, research centers – are invited to nominate candidates for the prize. The achievements of nominated candidates are evaluated by a special Selection Committee. Current members of the Committee:

Johanna Buchert

Helsinki, Finland
Professor, President & CEO,
Natural Resource Institute Finland (Luke)

Paul Dupree

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Professor, University of Cambridge, Department of Biochemistry, Head of Plant cell wall synthesis and function

Monica Ek

Stockholm, Sweden
Professor Wood Chemistry, KTH, Head of division Wood Chemistry and Pulp Technology

Eva Malmström Jonsson

Stockholm, Sweden
Professor, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Department of Fibre and Polymer Technology, Director of Wallenberg Wood Science Center

Gert-Jan Nabuurs

Wageningen, The Netherlands
Professor European Forest Resources and Climate Change,
Wageningen Environmental Research, Wageningen University and Research

Orlando Rojas

Vancouver, Canada
Professor, The University of British Columbia, Bioproducts Institute, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Bioproducts

Joris Van Acker

Michael J Wingfield

Pretoria, South Africa
Professor and Advisor to the Executive, University of Pretoria, Forestry and Agricultural Biotechnology Institute (FABI)

Entitled to propose members of the Selection Committee are the following organizations: